Setting up Ubuntu 14.04 on Apalis T30

Hello,

I am trying to install Ubuntu 14.04 (or an appropriate fork/equivalent kernel) on Apalis T30 board. I managed to install Ubuntu 12.04 with backported WiFi module (NVIDIA 7260) using the following links:

1. NVIDIA L4T rootfs - Apalis, Colibri Tegra based Modules
  2. Kernel Driver Backports Integration
  3. High performance, low power Embedded Computing Systems | Toradex Developer Center
  4. Build U-Boot and Linux Kernel from Source Code | Toradex Developer Center

There I used the provided sample rootfs with the linux-toradex provided kernel. From what I understood the kernel “corresponds” to that of Ubuntu 12.04 (pardon my terminology, I am a beginner). My goal is to install ROS Indigo (indigo/Installation/UbuntuARM - ROS Wiki), which is supported on 14.04 version.

Could you please provide some help on how to do that? I looked into this thread How to compile mainline Linux kernel for Apalis T30? - Technical Support - Toradex Community, but I haven’t tested it though.

Also it might be worth mentioning that I do not need graphics support, and all other insights for increasing performance, reducing heating and saving resources are more than welcome.

Thank you for the help.

Another possible option instead of using an Ubuntu root filesystem would be to use OpenEmbedded and use the meta-ros layer and add components/packages required from ROS. However note that you might or might not have success depending on the particular package required.

Dear Sanchayan, thank you for the answer. We managed to set that up and it is working properly, but we would like to move away from bitbake due to certain maintenance problems we were facing.

I am trying to install Ubuntu 14.04 (or an appropriate fork/equivalent kernel)